Genesys Cloud - Main

View Only
Discussion Thread View
  • 1.  Web Chat Widget V2 - Using html to make a schedule decision

Posted 05-06-2021 16:12
    hi folks, 

I'm looking at a webchat implementation where there is a specific schedule involved (e.g. chat is open 8am until 10pm)

I appreciate that the V1 and V1.1 widgets have this schedule feature, but I am keen to use the V2 widget for mobile optimization and domain limiting features

I'm wondering if anyone has managed to use html / JS to limit the time when the "Start Chat" button is presented with a V2 widget

I have managed to configure schedules within the flow which can present a message to the customer that states the queue is closed, but they've already started their chat by then, I would prefer to simply not display the button at "closed" times if possible

Any hints much appreciated - I'm not a html coder by nature so please be gentle with me :)
    #DigitalChannels
    #Implementation

------------------------------
    Mark Elliott
    Lemon Business Solutions

• 2.  RE: Web Chat Widget V2 - Using html to make a schedule decision

Posted 05-07-2021 05:34
    This Javascript will give some level of indication as to what i am looking for, but gives popups where I basically want the chat button to either appear or not based on time of day. 

var currentTime = new Date().getHours();
    if (currentTime >= 8 && currentTime <= 22) {
    window.alert("Our chat is currently open");
    } else {
    window.alert("Our chat is currently closed");
    }

I've tried a few different ways of pasting the chat widget into this code but it doesn't seem to want to work for me.

Mark Elliott
    Lemon Business Solutions

• 3.  RE: Web Chat Widget V2 - Using html to make a schedule decision

Posted 09-28-2021 05:39
    hi @Mark Elliott,

Finally, did you get this?