Genesys Cloud - Main

View Only

Discussion Thread View
  • 1.  What is the relationship between Permissions, Roles and Divisions?

Posted 10-05-2021 19:47
    Hi, I'm new to Genesys Cloud and I'm reading the Help function in the Cloud admin page however I'm not fully understanding how Permissions, Roles and Divisions all interwork with each other.  I come from an Avaya background and trying to understand the Genesys Cloud ecosystem.
    #PlatformAdministration
    #SystemAdministration

------------------------------
    Jean Lam
    Individual Only Contact Account

• 2.  RE: What is the relationship between Permissions, Roles and Divisions?

Posted 10-06-2021 05:34
    Hi Jean,
    - Genesys Cloud org contains collection of Divisions. By default just one single "Home" division.
    Users, Queues, other objects can be assigned to one specific division.
    - Each Role has collection of Permissions to do different things.
    Role can be assigned to user for specific divisions. Means like user can have role/permissions just for specified divisions.

Here you can find more information
    https://help.mypurecloud.com/articles/divisions-overview/
    https://help.mypurecloud.com/articles/assign-roles-divisions-licenses-and-add-ons/
    https://help.mypurecloud.com/articles/about-roles-permissions/

Taras Buha
    taras@noralogix.com
    www.noralogix.com

• 3.  RE: What is the relationship between Permissions, Roles and Divisions?

GENESYS
    Posted 10-07-2021 08:00
    Hi Jean,

This is a guide that I wrote a while back; hope it helps! Note that in this guide, the word "subject" means "the person using Genesys Cloud." This is because the word "user" has several different meanings; it could also mean the data about a *different* person than the person using the app (for example, a supervisor managing agents; they are all "users" but in this case the supervisor is the subject)