PureConnect

View Only
Discussion Thread View
  • 1.  Changing Mail Provider to Exchange Online (Microsoft 365) using OAuth

Posted 02-10-2021 22:35
    Edited by Jeff Hoogkamer 02-15-2021 04:01

Hi All,

*EDIT 15-Feb-2021 - added Step 4 about API permissions, updated script to use single quotation marks*

Just thought I'd post my journey changing the Mail provider in PureConnect over from an Exchange 2013 On-Premise using Basic Authentication over to using Exchange Online (Microsoft 365) using OAuth authentication.

The PureConnect help documentation for Configuring domain properties for an Exchange provider just had this information about using OAuth:

To use OAuth to authenticate with Exchange, under Use OAuth, enter the certificate, certificate password, and the application ID that were generated during the application registration in the Microsoft Azure portal to request an access token that is passed during requests to Exchange.

As this is my first time using Exchange Online and OAuth - the instructions seemed to indicate the Certificate file and Certificate password were generated by the Azure portal. However it turns out I needed to create the Certificate file (in both .pfx and .cer format) with a Certificate password using a Powershell Admin script first. The .cer is used in the Azure portal, the .pfx is used in the CIC Mail provider configuration.

So before proceeding, these steps assume:

a. You already have a CIC Service Account setup on your Exchange Online platform, and it can already impersonate the required mailboxes also on Exchange Online
    b. You know your Domain as configured in the Microsoft/Office 365 Admin Center > Domains (i.e. the default)
    c. Choose your own Certificate password (and take note of what you choose for later)