Yes, caching of prompts has always been an issue. We moved to using dynamic prompt lookup based on a table lookup years ago for intermittent announcements.
Sr. Director - Innovation Architects
Original Message:
Sent: 11-21-2024 14:03
From: Brandon Weaver
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
I've added an idea for this: https://genesyscloud.ideas.aha.io/ideas/SSAAOB-I-230
------------------------------
R. Brandon Weaver
Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)
Original Message:
Sent: 11-21-2024 12:09
From: Brandon Weaver
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
Robert, no, I haven't tried using a data table for this. Our customers are currently using a digital bot to update the TTS field of their promo prompts.
But, updates to TTS prompts are not dynamically updated for folks who are already waiting in queue; only for new calls that route to the in-queue flow.
This is due to how Genesys caches or queues up the audio for a given queue at the get-go, so that any udpates to it are not experienced by folks who have already entered the queue flow.
Our customers are used to handling this themsleves, without us admins getting involved.
We'd like to keep it that way since we have numerous customers, each having several prompts that are updated frequently throughout the day.
------------------------------
R. Brandon Weaver
Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)
Original Message:
Sent: 11-21-2024 11:57
From: Robert Wakefield-Carl
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
Are you saying that if you have a table lookup for the TTS and you do that in the in-queue flow, it will not pick up any changes to the data table and not play the new TTS prompt? @Jim Hendry or @Peter Stoltenberg, have you seen this or can you test?
------------------------------
Robert Wakefield-Carl
ttec Digital
Sr. Director - Innovation Architects
Robert.WC@ttecdigital.com
https://www.ttecDigital.com
https://RobertWC.Blogspot.com
Original Message:
Sent: 11-21-2024 11:45
From: Brandon Weaver
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
Thank you for that thorough walkthrough, Jim!
Much appreciated.
It's a shame that simply updating the TTS will not work. I wish Genesys had not designed the audio to cache the way that it does; so that doing a FindUserPrompt doesn't dynamically update the TTS in queue like it does otherwise.
Thanks again!
------------------------------
R. Brandon Weaver
Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)
Original Message:
Sent: 11-21-2024 11:37
From: Jim Mayer
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
Hi Brandon.
What I did was follow Paul's steps above. For this to work, you need to create a data table that your in queue flow references to pull the prompt name that needs to be played, and a blank audio prompt that it will be set to for when its not in use. In our case, I have a prompt tilted "BlankAudio" with 100ms of silence, this is the default value on the data table and when the process is not in use so our customers wont notice anything different other than a small blip of silence. When you need to play a new prompt to callers that are already in or are going to be in the in queue flow, you update the row on the data table to the name of the prompt you need to have played instead.
On the in queue flow, I start it with 5 seconds of hold music so the customer knows they are waiting in the queue, and then call Data Table LookUp, pass through the "Key" for the item you are looking for and store the value in a variable. The 5 seconds of music helps because if you do it right away its all dead air until the action completes, so this is more of a customer experience point. You then have a PlayAudio action set to an expression to do a lookup on the prompt to play, example is ToAudio(FindUserPrompt(Flow.OutagePrompt)). I have mine in a common module to make it easier to implement on multiple in queue flows.
Benefit of this is that it plays 100ms of blank audio when not engaged, and when it is engaged it will pick up the new prompt when the IQF loops back to the top for callers already in the IQF.
------------------------------
Jim Mayer
Original Message:
Sent: 11-21-2024 11:10
From: Brandon Weaver
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
I'm needing to do this as well.
Jim, could you sort of walk me through what you did here?
------------------------------
R. Brandon Weaver
Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)
Original Message:
Sent: 02-21-2024 18:03
From: Jim Mayer
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
Paul, that idea nailed exactly what we were trying to do and it worked, thank you for the help! Tested it multiple times and it will catch the new audio and play that to customers who are already in the IQF.
------------------------------
Jim Mayer
Colorado Springs Utilities
Original Message:
Sent: 02-21-2024 10:21
From: Paul Simpson
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
OK, I have an idea, based on what everyone has said....
- Create a Data Table for settings. In this table store the name of the Prompt in the Prompt Library.
- Create a "silent" prompt and put its name into the Data Table
- In your In-Queue Flow, each time around the loop, re-read the value from the Data Table and use it within
ToAudio(FindUserPrompt(DataRetrievedFromTable))
- When you need to change the message, record it as a new Prompt, then change the value in the Data Table to point to it.
In this way, since it's a new Prompt, the system should "cache" the new audio when it detects it.
Let us know if that works.
HTH
------------------------------
Paul Simpson
Views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.
Original Message:
Sent: 02-20-2024 15:45
From: Jim Mayer
Subject: In Queue Audio Prompt Real Time Update
Hi all,
Looking for some advice / insight / help on a problem I am running into with an in queue flow and playing a real time updated prompt to users who are already in the queue.
Situation is when we have an outage with our services, we are looking for a way to let customers who are already in an in queue flow to hear the message about the outage to help deflect some of the volume we receive during these times. In reviewing the resource center and this thread, it appears as if a dynamically referenced audio prompt should play a real time message (IE replacing blank audio in a prompt with new content, customers should hear that new content who are already in an IQF). What we are running into when testing this is once the audio prompt is updated to anything other than the blank audio, the blank audio is still playing in the prompt rather than the new content. I have tried doing as a call to a common module to play the audio and then sending back to IQF, find user prompt action into play audio and referencing the variable as the prompt name to play, wrapping the play audio in flush audio, using ToAudio(FindUserPrompt()) expression, but it will not play anything other than the blank audio until I end the call and call back and only then do I hear the new content.
Any idea or insights on what I may be doing wrong or another solution to this situation would be appreciated.
#ArchitectureandDesign
------------------------------
Jim Mayer
Colorado Springs Utilities
------------------------------